Skip to content

Federal Disaster Declaration Granted to 10 Tennessee Counties Recovering from October Storm

Federal disaster declaration granted to Henderson County and nine others.
file photo / The Lexington Progress

Article by W. Clay Crook-

Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee announced on December 6, 2019, that the federal government has granted his request for a Major Disaster Declaration to make federal recovery assistance available to 10 county jurisdictions impacted during October’s severe weather and straight-line winds.
“The devastating severe weather required a comprehensive response and stretched many local jurisdictions to their resource limits,” Gov. Lee said. “We are committed to supporting these communities and to securing the necessary resources for their recovery efforts.”
The following counties are included in the declaration: Benton, Decatur, Hardin, Henderson, Houston, Humphreys, McNairy, Montgomery, Perry, and Wayne.
The major disaster declaration covers damage from the Oct. 26 severe weather and will allow government entities and certain private non-profits in the eligible counties to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to the disaster under the…

For the complete article, see the December 11th edition of The Lexington Progress.

Subscribe Today!


Leave a Comment